Monthly Archives: August 2014

Human-made Hazards – Categories, Types and Sub-Types

Human-made hazards can be categorized into six main types: Engineering Incidents, HazMat Incidents, Nuclear/Radioactive Incidents, Interpersonal Incidents, and Terrorism Incidents.

Natural Hazards – Groups, Categories, Types and Sub-Types

Natural hazards are divided into six main groups: Biological, Climatological, Extra-Terrestrial, Geophysical, Hydrological, and Meteorological. Each category can have multiple hazard categories, types and sub-types.

Avalanches – Danger Level Notifications

Avalanche centers across Canada and the United States started using a new avalanche danger scale beginning the 2010/11 season. The following are North American Avalanche Danger Level notifications issued: Extreme, High, Considerable, Moderate, and Low.

Avalanches – Links and Resources

Related links and resources for Avalanche hazards, disasters and incidents.

Avalanches – Notable

Table of notable avalanches in the 20th century:

Avalanches – Types/Classifications

There is no universally accepted classification of avalanches—different classifications are useful for different purposes. Avalanches can be described by their size, their destructive potential, their initiation mechanism, their composition and their dynamics.

Avalanches – Aspects/Features

Remember that the avalanche danger rating levels issued by regional avalanche centers are only general guidelines. Distinctions between geographic areas, elevations, slope aspect and slope angle are approximate and transition zones between dangers exist.

Avalanches – Introduction

An avalanche (also called a snowslide or snowslip) is a rapid flow of snow down a slope. An avalanche occurs when a layer of snow loses its grip on a slope and slides downhill.